The Greater Oh-Penn Manufacturing Apprenticeship Network


The Greater Oh-Penn Manufacturing Apprenticeship Network (The Network) spans 14 counties along the Ohio and Pennsylvania border. These counties include Trumbull, Mahoning, Columbiana, Portage, Geauga and Ashtabula in Ohio, as well as Mercer, Lawrence, Erie, Crawford, Venango, Clarion, Warren, and Forest in Pennsylvania.

This region has 2,833 manufacturing openings annually. In addition 6,686 adults over age 55 will retire from the industry within the next 10 years. Manufacturing employees are needed across these 14 counties. The United States Department of Labor recognized this need and awarded the Network a $3 million grant focused on building local manufacturing apprenticeship programs over the next five years.

The project will target advanced manufacturing occupations, leading to Industrial Engineer and Mechanical Engineer positions, and will serve 500 participants in the14 Network counties. The Network will fill critical gaps through targeted recruitment of workers from specific demographics- including veterans, unemployed/underemployed, low-skilled individuals and foster children.

Click below to learn about the benefits of a registered apprenticeship program, available grant funding, background information and grant goals.